After School Counselor

Job Description

Counselors lead and work with a group of 15-25 elementary school aged children. Counselors ensure the safety of the children as they take them through a schedule of activities that includes: computers, homework, cooking, arts & crafts, outdoor sports, reading, board games, and more!

Apply Today

Click below to download an application in your preferred format.

Download application in PDF format Download application in MS Word format

Applications can also be completed at our corporate office.

Address:  1520 S. Powerline Road, Deerfield Beach, FL 33442
Hours:      Monday - Friday:  9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Have Questions?  Call us at:  954-596-9000

 

FAQs

What do I need to meet the requirements for the after school counselor position?

  • Must be 18+
  • Must have a High School Diploma/GED
  • Must be fingerprinted
  • Must be willing to submit to a pre-employment drug screening
  • You will need to be cleared by the:
    - Local Police Department
    - Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE)
    - FBI
  • All ASP employees, who are hired to work with children at ASP, will be monitored, as follows:
    - (3) unannounced visits per year by Child Care Licensing and Enforcement
    - (1) unannounced visit per year by the School Board of Broward County
  • Must be able to work Monday – Friday 1:30-6:00
  • Must have reliable transportation
  • Must have CPR/First Aid Certification

Any other requirements?

  • Must be able to stand continuously for 4 hours, including 40 minutes outside.
  • Must be able to read, write, speak, and comprehend the English language
  • Must be able to lift 10 lbs.

What is the starting pay?

  • Our counselors start at $8.00 ($8.50 with the 40 hour childcare training course)
  • Let us know if you have additional experience or certifications.

Do I have to have previous experience?

No, just a positive attitude. All of our staff members receive training in childcare and behavior management. This includes the 40-hour childcare training course that is mandated by the state of Florida. We also offer CPR and First Aid training as well as workshops.

 

What is the 40-Hour Training Course?

Childcare training is an essential component of childcare licensing. The Department of Children & Families mandates minimum introductory training requirements along with annual continuing education for professional development. Childcare facility personnel must begin this training within 90 days from the date of employment and complete all 40 hours within one year from the date the training began. You can find out more on the DCF website: www.myflorida.com/childcare

What Principals & Parents are saying...
  • I like that balance. [My daughter] has that time to unwind ... especially after school. Their first activity is usually playing outside for a little while, getting that fresh air and chance to run around. They have their snack and then she can work on her homework.

    Michaela Adams
    Parent - Collier County

After School Programs is accredited by both AdvancED and CITA

1-888-720-2882
or Click Here



© Copyright 2014 Principal - After School Programs All Rights Reserved